Host Institution University of Minho

Founded in 1973, the University of Minho is a Public Foundation governed by private law, under the legal Regime of Higher Education Institutes. The UMinho has a central role in the region and is an important reference for the country and a recognised partner in the European and global scene. Located in the north of Portugal, the University has a campus in Braga and two others in Guimarães (Azurém Campus and Couros Campus).

The Centre of Molecular and Environmental Biology / Centro de Biologia Molecular e Ambiental (CBMA) is a R&D Unit hosted at the University of Minho, rated as Excellent in 2014 in the scope of the last international evaluation by the Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia (FCT). The CBMA comprises an interdisciplinary team of biologists, mathematical physicists, biochemists, pharmacists, biological engineers and chemical engineers. The mission of CBMA is to promote high quality research and advanced education in Biological Sciences, for the benefit of the societal issues of biosustainability, quality of life and biobased economy, while serving the community by performing extension activities to promote science and technology at the regional, national and international levels. CBMA drives cutting-edge research through a problem-oriented approach leading to breakthrough innovations, to new tools and strategies, all of which have an impact in the Environmental, Biotechnology, Health, Agro-food and Industrial sectors. By addressing the complexity of biological systems at distinct levels of organization, from molecules to biosphere, and benefiting from the expertise of a cross-disciplinary team, CBMA R&D activities converge towards Integrative Biology

Organizing Committee

Pedro Gomes (UM, CBMA, Portugal)

Filipe Costa (UM, CBMA, Portugal)

Carlos Moura (UM, CBMA, Portugal)

Marisa Gomes  (UM, CBMA, Portugal)

Diego Carreira (UM, CBMA, Portugal)

Fábio Faria (UM, CBMA, Portugal)

Catarina Alves (UM, CBMA, Portugal)

Alberto Correia (UP, CIIMAR, Portugal)

Scientific Committee

Alberto Correia, CIIMAR, Universidade do Porto, Portugal

Jesus Souza Troncoso, Universidade de Vigo, Spain

Emilio Fernandez Suarez, Universidade de Vigo, Spain

Elsa Vasquez, Universidade de Vigo, Spain

João Carlos Marques, Universidade de Coimbra, MARE, Portugal

Marco Lemos, Instituto Politécnico de Leiria, MARE, Portugal

Leonel Pereira, Universidade de Coimbra, IMAR, Portugal

Margarida Castro, Universidade do Algarve, CCMAR, Portugal

Maria Helena Costa, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, MARE, Portugal

Xavier Turon, CSIC, Spain

Victoria Besada, Instituto Español de Oceanografia, Spain

Edna Cabecinha, UTAD, Portugal

Ana Marçalo, Univ. Algarve, CCMAR, Portugal

Pablo Pita, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Carlos Sebastian Villasante, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Henrique Queiroga, CESAM, Univ. de Aveiro, Portugal

Victoriano Urgorri, Univ. Santiago de Compostela, Spain